

Emergency Situation Surcharge (ESS) Adjustment - Effective April 10th 2022

Dear DHL Express Customer,

COVID-19 has had significant impacts on the global aviation industry, and global supply chains. In order for us to maintain a reliable and high quality delivery service for you and your customers, DHL Express introduced a temporary **Emergency Situation Surcharge** (ESS) in 2020.

Since the onset of this global pandemic, DHL teams have been adapting and adjusting the operations of our global network to align with new developments, regulatory requirements and constant changes in capacity and demand.

ADJUSTMENT OF THE EMERGENCY SITUATION SURCHARGE

As market conditions continue to evolve with the ongoing situation, the Emergency Situation Surcharge (ESS) will be adjusted **effective April 10**th **2022.**

DHL is making adjustments for specific origin/destination combinations. This adjustment reflects changes in market dynamics, air capacity availability and operational restrictions.

Key adjustments are summarized below:

- Origins China, Hong Kong, Rest of Asia 2 and South Asia 4 to destinations in Australia and New Zealand 3 : JPY 320 p/kg
- Origins Rest of Asia to destinations in Europe ⁵, Americas ⁶ and Rest of World region: JPY 160 p/kg
- Origins China, Hong Kong, Rest of Asia and South Asia to destinations in China, Hong Kong, Rest of Asia and South Asia: JPY 120 p/kg
- Origins Europe, Americas and Rest of World region to destinations in Rest of Asia: JPY 30 p/kg

*Added origin lane: South Asia (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Nepal)

Below, you will find the details for the adjusted ESS per origin and destination combination with the introduction of origin South Asia⁴.

In JPY per KG - DHL Express Emergency Situation Surcharge as of April 10th 2022

	Destination Country/Region					
Origin Country/Region	Hong Kong ¹ & China	Australia & New Zealand ³	Rest of Asia ²	Europe ⁵	Americas ⁶	Rest of World
China	120	320	120	190	320	190
Hong Kong ¹	120	320	120	190	320	190
Rest of Asia ²	120	320	120	160	160	160
South Asia ⁴	120	320	120	120	120	120
Europe ⁵	30	260	30	30	40	30
Americas ⁶	30	260	30	30	30	30
Rest of World	30	260	30	30	30	30

Please note that the ESS is a temporary charge, which allows us to cover part of the operating cost increases and the necessary air network adjustments. We will continue to evaluate and adjust the ESS as market conditions evolve for the duration of this emergency situation.

DHL Express - Excellence. Simply delivered.



Latest network updates

We will continue to inform our customers about any major changes in our service offering (e.g. local governmental restrictions and transit time impacts). Please visit the following website for temporary service adjustments: https://www.simplydhl.com/covid-19updates

This site details the service status for impacted countries from an original and destination perspective and also includes the latest updates and developments related to our Emergency Situation Surcharge.

If you have any questions, please reach out to your local DHL representative.

Thank you for your trust and cooperation.

Kind regards,

DHL Express Japan

¹ Hong Kong and Macau.

² **Rest of Asia** (*Asia excluding China and Hong Kong*) = Brunei, Bhutan, Cook Islands, Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, Cambodia, Kiribati, South Korea, Laos, Myanmar, Maldives, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Caledonia, Nauru, Niue, North Korea, Tahiti, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Solomon Islands, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Taiwan, Vietnam, Vanuatu, Samoa.

Australia, and New Zealand as origin only, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal as destination only.

³ All shipments from Australia/New Zealand/Papua New Guinea to Australia/New Zealand/Papua New Guinea will be charged JPY 30/kg.

⁴ South Asia= India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal.

Europe = Andorra, Faroe Islands, Greenland, Canary Islands, Liechtenstein, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State, Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Falkland Islands, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Republic of Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jersey, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Republic of Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan.

⁶ Americas = American Samoa, Cuba, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, Commonwealth Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Palau, Virgin Islands (US), Anguilla, Antigua, Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bonaire, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guyana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico, Montserrat, Nevis, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Barthelemy, St. Eustatius, St. Kitts, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Vincent, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Virgin Islands.